The Andaman Langkawi

Category: Honeymoon, Venue

Contact Us About Us
10 review(s) from our community
Write your review

25 Apr 2015
lovely lovely lovely!

I stayed here with my 7 year old in April 2015. We had a fantastic time. The pool (with slide) was great, beach beautiful. Great hospitality.The food on site was ok and very costly which I was surprised at (I should have researched). The nearest 'local' places are 30-40mins drive. Those are my kind of places, but I hired a car and did night markets for a couple of nights.The rooms are spacious and clean. The resort is quiet and very large. Staff very friendly and helpful.



22 Apr 2015
Fantastic Beach

I recently stayed at the Andaman and enjoyed everything. The room - even though it was rainforest view - seriously though who spends that much time in your room when you are on holidays anyway!!! So the room was great, and honestly if you don't want to spend the extra money on upgrading to a fancier room with its own pool then I wouldn't bother as I still had all the same benefits and amenities etc only I had to share a pool - which I didn't swim in anyway as I was on the beach each day. However the pool was huge and looked very inviting.



24 Mar 2015
Wonderful

Wonderful hotel and I can say that it is the best spg hotel in Langkawi. Tq for the studio suite and hopefully to be upgraded to executive suite for my next visit. Tq



16 Mar 2015
Definitely worth staying!

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in this resort, and we had the time of our lives! Our experience here was unforgettable and has already set in our minds as a delightful memory to reflect upon. The Andaman’s staff provided such excellent care that we were impressed before even arriving in Malaysia. A splendid woman named Vivien called us overseas to confirm our reservation and congratulate us on our marriage.When we arrived in the resort, we were welcomed by a fine and jovial gentleman named Barry, whom I have no doubt will one day be manager of a five-star hotel such as this. Check-in could not have been more pleasant, and we were immediately upgraded into a room with access to a private pool.Our room had already been prepared with welcome drinks and our bed was decorated with rose petals and swan shaped towels joined to form a heart. When we went back to our room later that night, we were delighted to find yet another surprise, a delicious mountain of chocolate strawberries!We spent our time in the resort wandering around, strolling on the beach, swimming in the sea, meeting new people, and enjoying the miraculous view of the island. We went kayaking to another piece of land nearby, which was dangerously scattered with shards of glass and broken beer bottles. Nevertheless, it was exhilarating to explore new lands and search for different life forms. The resort has a beautiful coral nursery, where they teach children and adults how to grow coral and the importance of coral in sea life. We also went bike riding, which I would only recommend if you’re looking for a good workout. Bike riding is not allowed inside the resort, so we had to ride up and down the steep hills surrounding it.Breakfast in the hotel was absolutely phenomenal. Everything was made fresh on the spot, and anything you can think of, they had! The crispy chocolate croissants, freshly whipped cream, crunchy blueberry jam, and fluffy pancakes were by far my favorite. We also had a wonderful dinner in the Japanese restaurant, which was serving a sushi buffet one night. There we met an Indonesian hostess named Novita, who showed us the traditional instruments and seating arrangements of the Japanese.The one drawback we found was that the food was much more expensive than we were expecting, and we did not enjoy the Malay food in one of the restaurants near the beach. There is no way to have food delivered to the resort, so make a budget for at least $100 a day for food if you plan on staying.All in all, this resort is overflowing with positivity, and I would recommend it without a doubt to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of the staff working in The Andaman for making special memories for people like myself and my husband. You have made our honeymoon truly unforgettable.



08 Mar 2015
Exceptional holiday experience

Thank you to everyone at The Andaman for a superb stay this past week. To Christian Metzner and your team, it was outstanding and we loved every minute of our five nights at the resort. Although it was very hard to leave, our time at The Andaman was so sublime that we felt refreshed and relaxed and ready to go back to reality, truly the mark of a great holiday.We were celebrating a special anniversary, and to our great surprise the associate who looked after us so well at the Westin in KL had phoned ahead to The Andaman! Waiting for us was a special cake and a very warm welcome. Platinum recognition is excellent, and we stayed in a beautiful executive pool suite - thank you so much!We felt welcome and very special every moment of our stay, and we loved the restaurants, the nature walks and the coral nursery activities (don't miss them!). The beach and the view was glorious and it was very easy to relax there for hours on end. We also hired a kayak and paddled over the nearby small island and went snorkelling. So much to do, or you can just relax on the beach for hours at a time, which many other couples were doing. Seeing the animals in their own setting in the rainforest was an incredible experience and one we will never forget.A special moment was a private dinner we booked, which was organised for us on the beach. The food and beverage manager arranges it all for you, and you have a private butler attending to your every need. As we were celebrating something special, it was the highlight of our trip. Thank you so much to everyone concerned.Our experience at the Andaman more than met our expectations. We will definitely be back!



19 Feb 2015
Great wildlife on hotel grounds

Our 2nd stay at the Andaman. Saw even more wildlife on hotel grounds than last time. Complimentary nature walks are great (thank you Fendi). Coral nursery snorkel was a wonderful surprise and experience (thank you Dynah (sp?)). If you love wildlife, it is easily seen on the hotel property - birds (even hornbills & eagles), flying squirrels, fish and coral in the coral nursery, monkeys, monitor lizards, and more - this is an place to effortlessly see them all without leaving the hotel grounds or sometimes even the pool. Environmental bent of the hotel is refreshing compared to other locations that put animals more on display than letting you observe them in their natural state.Wish there was an informal restaurant option like a snack bar or pizza place.Free shuttles to Kuah Town and Cenang Beach get you off the property if you feel the need for some different scenery.Staff are responsive and caring. Starwood Platinum guests receive good recognition. We love this property and its staff.



06 Jan 2015
One of our best vacations ever, if not the best!

My wife and I stayed at this Resort from December 20 - 25 2014.The resort and the beach were a little paradise but what truly made our stay was the experience and the outstanding customer service we received from the entire staff and the general Manager himself, who made us feel welcomed each and every day.We were upgraded to a suite with a private pool and ocean view, which made our stay.We were offered a Free mini-bar (without alcohol) so we didn't have to pay for water, soft drinks, snacks...The bed is amazingly comfortable.The staff is very well trained and gives exemplary customer service.The food in each restaurant is outstanding, especially the breakfast buffet which offers so much variety.Monkeys came to our balcony for a few visits which was a fun experience, They're harmless and stay away from you as long as you don't give them food.It was paradise even when it rained!We'll definitely be back



01 Jan 2015
One of the most amazing places in the world.

The tag " Luxury Collection" sits very well with the Andaman resort. Having stayed in many all over the world, if SPG were looking to create an Uber level, this place would make the cut.They are not absolutely modern, but hey , you are in the middle of a rainforest with a most amazing beach at your doorstep. Great balconies have great views.3. SPG recognition is outstanding and thank you to management for looking after us with an upgrade .4. The rainforest! This place is beyond just special. Whether you are walking to breakfast or coming back from dinner, the forest abounds with bird life and wildlife not seen anywhere else in the world. My recommendation is take one of the free, yes free nature walks provided by the hotel and really understand what surrounds you.5. The beach. Warm water and white sand and great views.6. The spa! A real treat. For those that love a great massage but also want the spa experience, the villas overlooking the Andaman sea make this a truly exotic experience.7. The food selection. So many great restaurants and you can sample everything from the humble burger to great Malaysia food and prepared by some great chefs, and in particular Renee, a Danish maestro with seafood.8. When things do go wrong and we had a little blip with service one night, rest assured management lead from the front to ensure true happiness is restored.What's great.1. The staff. Professional, happy and want to please. Led by an outstanding leader in food and Beverage, Faizul Othnam, who made our stay special, all the staff from front desk to support staff are of impeccable quality.2. Rooms are very comfortable. I wish I could hand out 6 stars as the Andaman resort deserves the highest acclaim.We will certainly return!



12 Nov 2014
Relaxing Weekend Away

Hotel was beautifully laid out and clearly preserved the nature surrounding the grounds. I loved the non-pretentious entrance and lobby area. Room had the most amazing view and extremely comfortable bed. All staff was incredibly polite and attentive. The service really enhanced the trip. We loved the element of privacy throughout the hotel as well. Dinner at Jala was absolutely delicious and cocktails at the beach bar were very good.The only complaints about the hotel were that the first shower I took, the drain was completely clogged and flooded the entire bathroom.The drain should have been checked before we were allowed to unpack in the room between guests and when I called the concierge it took more than 25 minutes for someone to come look at it. Lastly, the food at the beach bar was not up to standards with the rest of the hotel. My boyfriend ordered the turkey panini and it was disgusting and inedible. The turkey was thick processed pre-packaged turkey. Being at a 5 star hotel, I highly recommend the beach bar get its food quality on par.Overall a very relaxing and romantic weekend away from Singapore. Will definitely be going back and recommending The Andaman to friends!



17 Dec 2013
Another year and another stay at The Andaman!

Another year and another stay at The Andaman! We are happy to see the familiar faces of the staff and ....the wildlife. We've lost count of the number of times we have stayed here over the last ten years. Thank you to all the team (Ann, Raj, Adrian, Darren, Gerry et al) who make us feel so welcome every time. Our children say it's their second home.